Australia's screenwriting future: 2017 Monte Miller Award winners announced in Melbourne


Australian Writer’s Guild
28 February 2018

Screenwriters Nicholas Clifford, Arky Michael and Kym Vercoe have been announced as the 2017 Monte Miller Award recipients, taking home the top prizes for unproduced screenplays in a competitive year that saw almost 400 Monte Miller entries.

Clifford took home the award in the short form category for his script The Handyman, while Michael and Vercoe were awarded the long form category prize for their script Mrs Burswood.

The awards were celebrated by Australian Writers Guild and Screen Australia in Melbourne by a packed room of screenwriters, entrants, producers and industry figures, and were presented by AWG President Jan Sardi and Shane Brennan with Celia Pacquola acting as host.

The premier awards for unproduced scripts in Australia, the Monte Miller Awards turn the spotlight on the best among Australia’s up-and coming screenwriters, and celebrate a diverse mix of new and original Australian voices for the stage and screen. 

Presented by the Australian Writers’ Guild since 1972, they are a unique and competitive opportunity for emerging screenwriters to have their work showcased to the industry. 

The full shortlist for both awards can be viewed here, with projects now showcased on Pathways Showcase.

The 2017 Monte Miller Awards shortlists are:

Short Form category 

Alan King for Leo’s Dream

Leanne Mangan for The Morning After

Nicholas Clifford for The Handyman

Nir Shelter and Tai Scrivener for Spies Girls: Pilot Episode

Sam Uther and Grace Uther for 1969

Tim Spencer for Wilco

Long Form category 

Arky Michael and Kym Vercoe for Mrs Burswood

Gabriel Bergmoser for Windmills

Gemma Crofts for Below the Radar  

The 2017 Monte Miller Awards are made possible with the support of our Major Government Partner Screen Australia. 


5A Glasshouse Road

Collingwood VIC 3066

+61 3 9645 7512


instagram icon
linkedIn icon

2024 Truce. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy